World Literature I Summer 2010 Calendar

Last Updated: 08/02/10

 

The texts listed for each day indicate the work discussed that day in class, not homework for the next class. As with any college class, it is YOUR JOB to keep track of the daily readings, essay deadlines, etc. rather than depending on reminders from me. 

 

The readings are weighted so that there is more reading due on Mondays than Wednesdays.  Make sure that you give yourself ample time to complete each reading and do not try to do it all in one day.  Finally, READ THE INTRODUCTION TO EACH NEW TEXT—this will help you!

                                                                                        

Thread One:  Systems of Belief

 

Monday, June 7

            Introduction to Course                                                                     

            In-class writing sample

 

Wednesday, June 9

            Vol. A:  Gilgamesh

 

Monday, June 14

Vol. A:  Genesis 1-3; 6-9, 39-46

Vol. B:  The Koran 1, 4, 12, 55, 71, 76

           

Wednesday, June 16

Vol. A:  The Bhagavad-Gita

           

Meet at the Dallas Museum of Art Saturday, 06/19 from 11am-1pm (this trip makes up for the 7/07 class)

 

Thread Three:  Poetry

           

Monday, June 21

            Vol. B: The Kokinshu

Vol. B:  T’ang Poetry:  Wang Wei, Han-Shan, and Po-Chü-i

 

Wednesday, June 23

Vol. A:  The Iliad, Book I and VI (begin with Line 148)

 

Monday, June 28

            Class CANCELED Due to Illness

 

Wednesday, June 30

Vol. A:  The Iliad: Book VIII, IX, XXII, and XXIV

Essay I Thesis Statement and Documentation Samples DUE by 6pm on turnitin.com ONLY

Museum Handout DUE

 

Monday, July 5

            NO CLASS: School closed for 4th of July Holiday

 

Wednesday, July 7

            NO CLASS:  Essay 1 due on Turnitin.com by 11:59pm

 

Thread Three:  Theater and Civic Life

 

Monday, July 12

            Midterm Exam

You may bring 1 page of notes (front and back) to the exam.  You will turn in your notes with your exam.

 

Wednesday, July 14

Vol. A: The Oresteia: Agamemnon

 

Monday, July 19

            Vol. A: The Oresteia: The Eumenides

            Oresteia Writing Assignment Due

 

Wednesday, July 21

Vol. B:  Nō Drama:  “Haku Rakuten”         

            In-class MLA documentation workshop

 

Monday, July 26

            Vol. C: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, Act 1

Essay 2 Thesis Statement and Documentation Samples DUE

 

Wednesday, July 28

Vol. C: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, Acts 2 & 3

Thread Four:  Prose and the Art of Storytelling

                       

Monday, August 2

Vol. C: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, Acts 4 & 5

Essay 2 DUE by 6pm on turnitin.com ONLY

           

Wednesday, August 4

Vol. B:  1001 Nights: Prologue, Nights 1-8 (stop before “The Story of the Fisherman and the Demon”)

Review for Final Exam

 

Monday, August 9

Vol. B: “Lanval,” “Laustic”

            Vol. B:  The Decameron          

 

Wednesday, August 11

            Final Exam

You may bring 1 page of notes (front and back) to the exam.  You will turn in your notes with your exam.

 

 

                                   

 

 

 

viagra online is a stimulant which is easily available from numerous online websites. Stimulants like Viagra and cialis online, work very fast and they deliver you with some amazing results. Apart from this, you may also play casino online to obtain the best vouchers and discount coupons in your town.